Home

Jun 17, 2019

Google boss annoyed at Apple

authorarticle: Master3395
Skjermbilde.JPG
video: 
youtube: 
sources: The Verge
keywords: Google, Sign in, SSO
Category: IT
Posted by: Admin

Think they are portrayed as corrupt during the unveiling of "Sign in with Apple".

Think they are portrayed as corrupt during the unveiling of "Sign in with Apple".

The World Wide Developers Conference (WWDC) was launched last week, and we were served a new sign-in service called "Sign in with Apple".

Do as Google and Facebook
This is a so-called Single Sign-On (SSO) service that allows you to log in to a number of services using one account. Apple goes straight to both Google and Facebook, which has its own solutions.

When Apple announced the feature, the company focused on privacy and security. Apple came up against Google and Facbook and said, among other things, that their login service does not track users, unlike their competitors.

Google's Product Organizer Director, Mark Risher, said in an interview with The Verge that he was "a little annoyed" about how Apple made its competitors.

"There were a number of insinuations, such as that only one of them (the services) is clean and the rest is corrupt, something I obviously do not like," Risher told The Verge.

Also Apple still password
However, he says he thinks it's good if users log in with the "Sign in with Apple" feature (or other competitors) because it is much better than using individual passwords.

- I honestly believe that this technology is better for the internet and that it will increase users' safety. Although they tap on one of our competitors' buttons when they log on to websites, it's still much better than entering a customized username and password, or more commonly - recycled passwords, Risher says.

- I'm guilty of it
The Google director tells The Verge that Apple's point to Google and Facebook gave them an opportunity to explain their service better.

- I'm guilty of not explaining well enough what happens when you press the "Sign in with Google" button. We only log the moment of the authentication. It is not used purposefully. It is not used for advertising. It is not distributed anywhere. And it is there (logged) partly for user control so that users can go back and see what happened. We also have a website that says "here are all connected apps and you can break up that connection whenever you want," says Risher.

authorarticle: Master3395
Skjermbilde.JPG
video: 
youtube: 
sources: The Verge
keywords: Google, Sign in, SSO

Comments:

comments powered by Disqus

Return

Sponsored Ads:

Discord

Page 1 of 573  >  >>

What's in the latest Edge update? Rollbacks and new browser telemetry policies

Edge.jpg

Oct 20, 2020 | Category: Microsoft | Comments

Microsoft's Edge 86 includes a "rollback" function that lets IT admins restore an earlier version of the browser and gives the built-in PDF viewer support for document tables of content.

read more…

What the new iPhone 12 means for 5G

apple.jpg

Oct 19, 2020 | Category: Apple | Comments

By now, you’ve probably heard that Apple’s iPhone 12 lineup will have 5G capabilities. And you have also probably heard us discuss how 5G speeds are still only available in some parts of the country with some carriers. 

read more…

Microsoft ends support for Office 2010, bangs the Office 365

Office.jpg

Oct 18, 2020 | Category: Microsoft | Comments

Microsoft on Tuesday reminded customers that Office 2010 and Office 2016 for Mac have received their final security updates, as the suites have now dropped off the company's support list.

read more…

Page 1 of 573  >  >>